East Bay DSA 2018 Convention Results

April 30, 2018 04:44

The East Bay DSA 2018 Convention has come to a close. This was a tremendous effort on behalf of the chapter's membership, including the candidates, authors and signatories of the two priorities resolutions, and the many volunteers who helped make the event possible.

Priorities Resolution

The membership voted to enact the Bread and Roses priorities resolution with 159 votes in favor of that resolution, 67 in favor of the Working Class Unity and Power priorities resolution, and 11 abstentions.

Steering Committee Members

Congratulations to the winners of the Steering Committee elections. The winners are

  • Co-Chairs: Angie LaFlame and Zach McDonald
  • Vice Chair: Abigail Gutmann-Gonzalez
  • Treasurer: Sean Murphy
  • Recording Secretary: Mark Gabriel
  • Communications Secretary: Dominic Dagradi
  • At-Large Members: Hasan-Can Arat, Keith Brower Brown, Nestor Castillo, Hannah Ehrlinspiel, Jeremy Gong, Aaron Hall, and Megan Svoboda

Per the chapter bylaws, the newly elected Steering Committee members will take their positions at the end of the month.

Vote Tallies

As a thoroughly democratic body, and in the interest of transparency, the results of the election are provided here.

For positions with more than two candidates, our chapter used a ranked-choice voting system known as Scottish single-transferable vote (STV). Vote tallies for these positions are linked.


See the co-chair position results.

Vice Chair

  • Abigail Gutmann-Gonzalez: 212 (63%)
  • Sergio Guadarrama: 127 (37%)


  • Sean Murphy: 210 (60%)
  • Antonio B.H.: 138 (40%)

Recording Secretary

  • Mark Gabriel: 192 (55%)
  • Karina Stenquist: 159 (45%)

Communications Secretary

  • Dominic Dagradi: 185 (54%)
  • Miguel Duarte: 158 (46%)

At-Large Members

See the at-large member positions results.